Groundhog Day

And thus the curtains fell on 2011, in anti-climactic ceremony and without an encore, we all stumbled home drunkenly to nurse New Years hangovers that felt somewhat familiar. Fortunately I was not hung-over, in actual fact I was feeling at odds with the glum weather. I headed home with a spring in my step and even considered briefly walking several miles in the hefty rain. Then my socks got soaked and I decided I’d rather take the train. Upon exiting a train filled with many shame soaked passengers I touched out of my local station. I leaned into the oyster reader to glimpse the damage (which I estimated at around a quid), it read minus £2.74. I lost the spring in my step. I also gained a reality check. Things change in the New Year but they change as the general passage of time changes, slowly and addled with familiarity.

That said, I would be lying if I proclaimed that I did not still maintain a certain anticipation and excitement for the New Year. A calendar, though an inanimate thing, tells us much about the past in distinguishable and digestible fragments, teasing futures which we desire and may or may not fulfil. The calendar reminds us of “that summer” and beckons us to fill the coming spring. The calendar has prompted a great deal of pro-activity in our society (playing a small role in ensuring pro-activity still exists in our consumer mad society).

Yet, I would be lying if I was to say that I was not a cynic. I have succumbed to a bandwagon of sneering types who cajole those who revel in their yearly ritual of pro-activity. “This is my year” ha! We laugh, “you said this last year”. Although hardly constructive in its criticism, we, the sneering lot are right in highlighting the useless and bland New Years resolutions.  This is because the folk whom we sneer at tend, despite their energetic proclamations, to not change anything (or anything of note). There is an emptiness to those kind of statements; statements which rarely hold weight upon their lives. I say this as, in my opinion people hold the calendar itself as an instrument of change. They rely upon an external influence rather than looking inwards to try and usher and implement the change they want.

Yet, on the other hand, the sneering crowd are also at fault. Although aware of the insignificance of the passing of seconds we can be prone to ignore the power held by time. As I mentioned earlier the calendar beckons in the New Year and does incite an intrigue in what the future might hold. Like it or not we are forced to grow. We change and we stay the same. We begin and become as per what we once were. Thus, the future, 2012 holds significance in who you are and the events which occur this year and how you manage them shape us. A new year operates as a big crashing symbol (pun alert!) for us, if we have lost our way toward the fall, to remember who we are and who we are to become. That alone is a great reason to welcome the New Year.

Happy New Year people!!!

Victor

